Vision Payroll

September 7, 2011

Tip of the Week: IRS Provides Tax Relief to Victims of Hurricane Irene

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) is providing tax relief to individual and business taxpayers impacted by Hurricane Irene.

The IRS has announced that certain taxpayers in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Puerto Rico and Vermont will receive tax relief, and other locations are expected to be added in coming days following additional damage assessments by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The tax relief postpones certain tax filing and payment deadlines to Oct. 31, 2011. It includes corporations and businesses that previously obtained an extension until Sept. 15, 2011, to file their 2010 returns and individuals and businesses that received a similar extension until Oct. 17. It also includes the estimated tax payment for the third quarter of 2011, which would normally be due Sept. 15.

Hurricane Irene, Courtesy of NASA/NOAA GOES Project
Hurricane Irene, Courtesy of NASA/NOAA GOES Project

The tax relief is part of a coordinated federal response to the damage caused by the hurricane and is based on local damage assessments by FEMA. For information on disaster recovery, individuals should visit

Tax Relief Available So Far

Filing and payment relief is currently available to taxpayers in federal disaster areas declared in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Puerto Rico and Vermont. The IRS expects to announce tax relief for taxpayers in other areas as damage assessments continue. The IRS encourages taxpayers and tax practitioners to monitor Tax Relief in Disaster Situations for updates.

So far, IRS filing and payment relief applies to the following counties and municipalities:

  • Connecticut: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland and Windham;
  • Massachusetts: Berkshire and Franklin.
  • New Jersey: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren.
  • New York: Albany, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Suffolk, Ulster, Warren and Westchester.
  • North Carolina: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington and Wilson;.
  • Puerto Rico: Arroyo, Aguas Buenas, Caguas, Canovanas, Carolina, Cayey, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Loiza, Luquillo, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce and San Juan.
  • Vermont: Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Orange, Rutland, Washington and Windsor.

Vision Payroll is Here to Help Affected Taxpayers with Payroll Tax Issues

Contact Vision Payroll if you were affected by Hurricane Irene and need further information on the relief provided by the IRS.

August 13, 2011

US Department of Labor Provides Funding to Assist Workers in Ohio

US Department of Labor Provides Funding to Assist Workers in Ohio
US Department of Labor Provides Funding to Assist Workers in Ohio
The US Department of Labor (DOL) recently announced a $16,233,360 National Emergency Grant that will create 1,144 temporary jobs to assist in cleanup and recovery efforts in the wake of spring storms and flooding that occurred in Ohio. Communities across 15 counties located in the Appalachian region were affected by the storms, which occurred between April 4 and May 15.

DOL Secretary Solis Comments on Grant

“The destruction caused by the floods this spring has placed a terrible strain on thousands of Ohioans, and they need to know their government stands with them as they work to make their communities whole again,” said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. “These emergency funds will help local workers provide for their families as they raze destroyed buildings, repair buildings, and clear streets and streams of debris. After natural disasters like this, it’s critical that Washington steps up to help residents rebuild their neighborhoods and families rebuild their lives.”

Funds Are Awarded to the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services

These funds are being awarded to the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services. Of the total award, $3.5 million will be released initially.

FEMA Declared 21 Counties Eligible for Assistance

On July 13, the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared 21 Ohio counties eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program. This grant will assist 15 of those counties, including Athens, Belmont, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Ross, Scioto, Vinton and Washington. Other counties may be added at a later date if further evaluation warrants their inclusion. More information on designated disaster areas in Ohio is available from FEMA at:

National Emergency Grants Are Part of Discretionary Fund

National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor’s discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state’s ability to meet specific guidelines.

Contact Us Vision Payroll
Client Remote Access