Vision Payroll

October 18, 2011

Arizona Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.65 Effective January 1, 2012

Arizona Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.65 Effective January 1, 2012
Arizona Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.65 Effective January 1, 2012
The Labor Department of the Arizona Industrial Commission announced recently that pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §23-363, the minimum wage for the state of Arizona will increase to $7.65 per hour effective January 1, 2012. The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage be calculated each year.

Adjustment Is Tied to Changes in CPI-U

The adjustment is tied to the US Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, US City Average (CPI-U) for the 12 months ending in August. The 3.8% increase in the CPI-U will result in an increase of $0.30 for 2012. Increases are rounded to the nearest five cents.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Arizona minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

October 17, 2011

Florida Minimum Wage Increases to $7.67 Effective January 1, 2012

Filed under: News — Tags: , , , , — Vision @ 5:25 pm
Florida Minimum Wage Increases to $7.67 Effective January 1, 2012
Florida Minimum Wage Increases to $7.67 Effective January 1, 2012
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity announced recently that pursuant to the Florida Constitution, the minimum wage for the state of Florida would increase from $7.31 per hour to $7.67 effective January 1, 2012.

Adjustment Must Be Calculated Annually

The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage that must be calculated each year. The adjustment is tied to the US Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) in the South Region for the 12 months ending in August. Since the CPI-W increased 4.9% from the previous year, an adjustment of $0.36 will be made to the minimum wage.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Florida minimum wage or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

October 10, 2011

Montana Minimum Wage Increases to $7.35 Effective January 1, 2012

Montana Labor Commissioner Keith Kelly
Montana Labor Commissioner Keith Kelly
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry announced recently that pursuant to Montana Code Annotated 39-3-409, the minimum wage for the state of Montana would increase from $7.35 per hour to $7.65 effective January 1, 2012.

Adjustment Must Be Calculated Annually

The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage that must be calculated no later than September 30 of each year. The adjustment is tied to the US City Average Consumer Price Index (CPI) for All Urban Consumers for All Items for the 12 months ending in August. Since the CPI increased 3.8% from the previous year, an adjustment of $0.30 will be made to the minimum wage.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Montana minimum wage or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

October 9, 2011

Washington Minimum Wage to Increase to $9.04 January 1, 2012

Judy Schurke, Director, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
Judy Schurke, Director, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries announced recently that pursuant to Initiative 688, the minimum wage for the state of Washington would increase from $8.67 to $9.04 per hour effective January 1, 2012. The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage be calculated each year.

Adjustment Is Tied to Changes in CPI-W

The adjustment is tied to the change in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) for the 12 months ending in August. The 4.258% increase in the CPI-W will result in an increase of $0.37 for 2011.

Washington Maintains Highest Minimum Wage in the Country

Washington has the highest minimum wage in the country, followed by Oregon. Oregon recently announced that its minimum wage would rise $0.30 to $8.80 an hour in 2012.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Washington minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

October 8, 2011

Ohio Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.70 per Hour for 2012

Filed under: News — Tags: , , , , , , — Vision @ 5:42 pm
David Goodman, Director Ohio Department of Commerce
David Goodman, Director Ohio Department of Commerce
The Ohio Department of Commerce announced recently that, effective January 1, 2012, the minimum wage for the state of Ohio will increase to $7.70 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.85 for tipped employees.

Minimum Wage Applies to Employers That Gross More than $283,000 per Year

Effective January 1, 2012, the minimum wage will apply to employers who gross more than $283,000 per year, up from $271,000 in 2011.

Annual Adjustment Is Constitutionally Required

As a result of a constitutional amendment that passed in 2006 an adjustment to the minimum wage must be applied on January 1 of each year. The adjustment is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical workers for the 12-month period prior to September. The 1.4% increase in the CPI is rounded to the nearest five cents to calculate the amount of the adjustment.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Ohio minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

October 4, 2011

Oregon Minimum Wages Increases to $8.80 for 2012

Brad Avakian, Commissioner of the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries
Brad Avakian, Commissioner of the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries
Brad Avakian, Commissioner of the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries, announced recently that, effective January 1, 2012, the minimum wage for the state of Oregon will increase to $8.80 per hour.

Measure 25 Mandates Annual Adjustments

As a result of Measure 25, which passed in 2002, an adjustment to the minimum wage must be calculated no later than September 30 of each year. The adjustment is based on any increase in the US City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for All Items (CPI). The 3.37% increase in the CPI will result in a comparable change in the minimum wage.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Oregon minimum wage or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

July 15, 2011

Question of the Week: What Is the Impact of Not Providing a Tip Credit Notice?

What is the Impact of Not Providing a Tip Credit Notice?
What Is the Impact of Not Providing a Tip Credit Notice?
This week’s question comes from Tony, a restaurant owner. I read that restaurants should obtain a signed tip credit notice from all tipped employees. What is the impact of not providing a tip credit notice? Answer: Employers who do not provide a tip credit notice are not allowed to take the tip credit.

Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees May Be Lower

Current federal law requires most workers be paid a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour when an employee works forty hours or less in a week. For tipped employees, the minimum cash wage is $2.63 per hour as long as the employee receives enough tips to bring the hourly wage up to at least $7.25 per hour. Some states may have higher minimum wage rates that must be followed in that state. See our Minimum Wage Chart for further information.

Under FLSA, Notice Is Required to Take a Tip Credit

Under §3(m) of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), a tip credit is not allowed, “with respect to any tipped employee unless such employee has been informed by the employer of the provisions of [the tip credit].”

Employers Must Pay Full Minimum Wage

Employers who do not provide a tip notice and therefore are not allowed a tip credit must pay the full hourly minimum wage of $7.25 per hour the state minimum wage if it is higher than $7.25 per hour.

Contact Vision Payroll Today

Contact Vision Payroll today if you have further questions on the tip credit notice.

July 11, 2011

Prince George’s County Public Schools Agrees to Pay $4.2 Million in Back Wages

Prince George’s County Public Schools Agrees to Pay $4.2 Million in Back Wages
Prince George’s County Public Schools Agrees to Pay $4.2 Million in Back Wages
The US Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division has obtained an agreement for Maryland’s Prince George’s County Public Schools system (PGCPS) to pay $4,222,146 in back wages due 1,044 workers to resolve violations of the H-1B temporary foreign worker program. Investigators from the department found that PGCPS illegally reduced the wages of the H-1B workers by requiring them to pay fees that the school system was required to pay.

H-1B Visas Are for Temporary Hiring in Certain Specialty Occupations

The H-1B program allows employers to hire foreign professionals in certain specialty occupations to work temporarily in the US. Workers hired under the H-1B program must be paid at least the same wage rates and benefits as those paid to US workers doing the same job in the same area, so that the wages of similarly employed US workers are not adversely affected.

Foreign Workers Have Been Paid Back Wages

“The Labor Department has the responsibility for ensuring that employers who use the H-1B program follow the law and do not place US workers at a disadvantage to H-1B workers,” said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. “We are pleased this investigation has been resolved with workers paid all the back wages to which they are entitled.”

Civil Money Penalties Will Also Be Paid

Due to the willful nature of some of the violations, PGCPS also has agreed to pay $100,000 in civil money penalties and to be debarred for two years from filing new petitions, requests for extensions or requests for permanent residency for foreign workers under any employment-based visa program. Under the statute governing the H-1B program, willful wage violations are subject to a debarment period of at least two years. Violations are willful when an employer knew or acted in reckless disregard for whether its actions were impermissible.

Certain Fees Reduced Workers’ Wages Below Legal Limits

The H-1B visa program requires that employers pay certain fees, including an anti-fraud fee and a filing fee, when they utilize the program. Instead of paying these fees and other costs associated with recruiting H-1B workers and filing their visa petitions, PGCPS required the foreign workers to pay them. As a result, the workers’ earnings were reduced below the amount legally required to be paid. The Wage and Hour Division’s investigation covered fees associated with the H-1B application process from May 2005 to January 2011.

Agreement Subject To Approval

The agreement is subject to approval by an administrative law judge.

July 4, 2011

New Hampshire Ties State Minimum Wage To Federal Minimum Wage

Filed under: News — Tags: , , , — Vision @ 12:21 pm
NH Senate President Peter Bragdon
NH Senate President Peter Bragdon
The New Hampshire General Court voted to override the veto of Governor John Lynch and to enact HB 133, AN ACT relative to the minimum wage. The law will require the New Hampshire minimum wage to be linked to the federal minimum wage and is effective August 21, 2011.

No Change in Current New Hampshire Minimum Wage

Since the New Hampshire state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum wage, there will be no immediate impact to minimum wage employees in New Hampshire.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the New Hampshire minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

December 12, 2010

Colorado Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.36 Effective January 1, 2011

Donald J. Mares, Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
Donald J. Mares, Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
The Division of Labor of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment recently promulgated Colorado Minimum Wage Order 27, which increases, effective January 1, 2011, the minimum wage for the state of Colorado from $7.24 to $7.36 per hour.

Wage Adjustment Is Constitutionally Mandated

Pursuant to the inflation adjustment requirement of Section 15, Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution, the minimum wage must be adjusted each year effective January 1.

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage Also Increases

The minimum wage for tipped employees will also increase from $4.22 to $4.34 per hour.

Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page

Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Colorado minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.

Older Posts »

Contact Us Vision Payroll
Client Remote Access