Vision Payroll

June 7, 2010

CT Increases Penalties for Misclassifying Workers

On May 5, 2010, Governor M. Jodi Rell of the State of Connecticut signed into law Public Act 10-12, An Act Implementing the Recommendations of the Joint Enforcement Commission on Employee Misclassification. Under the law, effective October 1, 2010, the penalty for misclassifying workers as independent contractors goes from $300 per violation to $300 per day per violation. Additionally, the failure to properly classify workers with the intent to injure, defraud or deceive the state of Connecticut (in addition to insurance companies) by failing to pay workers’ compensation assessments or Second Injury Fund assessments is now a class D felony. Given the severe penalties for misclassifying workers in Connecticut, as well as increased enforcement at both the state and federal levels, Vision Payroll strongly recommends employers consult with a competent labor law attorney to assure compliance with federal and state worker classification laws.

July 23, 2008

Tip of the Week: Eliminate Workers’ Compensation Audits, Save Money

Filed under: News — Tags: , , , , , — Vision @ 11:00 am

Would you like to improve cash flow, eliminate annoying workers’ compensation audits, and save money? Who wouldn’t? Ask today about pay-as-you-go workers’ comp setup in conjunction with our insurance partners. As payroll is prepared each week, your workers’ comp premium is also calculated. The premium is automatically debited from your account. There’s no huge down payment, no misclassified workers, and no huge audit bills to pay at the end of the policy period. With pay-as-you-go workers’ comp from Vision Payroll, workers’ comp is not such a chore now, is it?

Contact Us Vision Payroll
Client Remote Access