The Vermont Department of Labor announced recently that pursuant to Title 21 of the Vermont Statutes, Annotated §384, the minimum wage for the state of Vermont will increase from $8.06 to $8.15 per hour effective January 1, 2011. The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage be calculated each year.
Adjustment Is Tied to Changes in CPI
The adjustment is tied to the change in the federal Consumer Price Index, US city average, not seasonally adjusted (CPI-U) for the 12 months ending in August and cannot increase more than five percent per year. The 1.1% increase in the CPI-U will result in an increase of $0.09 for 2011.
Find Out the Minimum Wage for All States by Visiting the Vision Payroll Minimum Wage Chart Page
Contact Vision Payroll if you have any questions on the Vermont minimum wage increase or visit our Minimum Wage Chart.